MyPLE – Personal Learning Environment – Clare

A couple of weeks back I had a day to kill in South Australia’s famous wine country – the Clare Valley.  So, I loaded up the iRiver with educational podcasts, hired a push-bike and took a leisurely ramble along the ‘reisling trail’.  It really was a profound learning experience – my PLE worked a treat!
 

CIMG3048.JPG

 
Not only did I learn a ton of things about manual controls of my digital camera (hence all the arty farty shallow depth of field shots) but I learnt about machinima, second life as a learning environment, the use of factorials in permutations and more!
 
Let me explain!
The photo below shows where I was sitting as I listend to gday world discussing advanced uses of machinma (machine + cinema).  As well as the well known Red & Blue movies, there was discussion about a re-make of Mad Max II using ‘footage’ from characters using Halo II on Xbox – over Xbox live.  As I was onto my nth glass of red (where n is a large number), my imagination raced to the possibility for engaging and giving recognition to street kids with good gamer skills.  (I was actually in discussions with an organisation in Western Australia who were thinking along these lines).
 

CIMG3045.JPG CIMG3039.JPG

 

Next we move to the location where I finally ‘grok’ the use of factorials for permutations – you know, the old ‘how many ways can three horses finish a race = 3x2x1’.  Not only did I understand the derivation but I could get my head around why there are 4x3x3x1 / 2×1 ways to arrange the letters in the word ‘KISS’.  I spent the next several days pondering how many ways to arrange the letters of that big old river in the USA – mississipi.  All thanks to the ‘behold the factorial’ episode of the mathgrad podcast.

 

CIMG3032.JPG

 

I could go on, and on, and on but you get the picture.  For the rest of my photos of this (and other) PLE learning journeys check my flickr tag:

 
Mike Seyfang

 

About mseyfang

Interruptus Digitalis
This entry was posted in LearnDog. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to MyPLE – Personal Learning Environment – Clare

  1. Unknown says:

    welcome to visit RF online blog Mmo blog Mmo guide blog Internet game guideTales of pirates forum ,it will give your some help.EVE online isk cheap EVE isk Guild wars gold Guild wars money GW gold Rs Money Wow gold Wow World of warcraft Gold Wow eu gold Wow us gold Maplestory mesos WOW GOLD worlf of warcrraft  World of warcraft gold Runescape RS gold RF online RF online cp RF online dalant  RF online disena  RF online money RF online gold Lotro gold Buy lotro gold  WOW gold  Cheap wow gold on sale. and you can sell your gold to us.

  2. Unknown says:

    roulette free roulette systems roulette strategies how to play roulette online roulette Water Run your car on water Run Car on Water Water Powered Car Water Car horse racing horse racing tips horse racing betting horse racing software horse racing systems movies downloadable movies download full version movies download movies movie downloads forex forex killer forex trading education forex software learn forex world of warcraft warcraft world of warcraft cheats world of warcraft download world of warcraft hacks Poker online poker how to play poker learn poker poker online blackjack online blackjack blackjack strategy how to play blackjack iphone iphone downloads iphone games download iphone download site review iphone download sites

Leave a comment